Mac’s Sassy Red

Prologue:  So I wandered over to my brother’s house yesterday to celebrate his birthday (because I’m an inner city wanker I go waylaid on the way over stopping in Gertrude street to peruse the ironic and overpriced industrial goods come interior design pieces. )

Upon arriving at said brother’s abode I handed over a six pack of Lucky beer (to be reviewed later this week), a boerewor and a bowl of the best potato salad in the world (aka heart attack in a bowl)  

In return I received a nice stemmed glass and a bottle of Mac’s Sassy Red.

Appearance: The beer was more amber than red (it looked just a shade darker than a James Squire Amber ale).  A head was evident on pouring, but it disappeared quickly, this lead to a discussion about washing glasses and in water in a glass destroys the head of a beer.

Taste: In an effort to appear like an even bigger wanker I sniffed at the glass. I breathed in the malty aroma. I drunk. This was a very full beer, slightly more bitter than I expected, but tasty. I was promised biscuity flavours which I never really found.  

Packaging: There was a lot to like about this bottle. It had a nice textured neck, which would help you prevail in the condensation covered bottle versus drunken hands gripping battle. I also liked the ring pull top, it made me think I was drinking ginger beer, or that it was 1958, either way I was happy.   

Food suggestion: I feasted on goats cheese brie (or was it camembert?) whilst drinking this and it really worked. Having said that given its full flavour I consider the Mac’s Sassy Red to be a winter warming beer so things like stew, roasted bunny rabbits and alike spring to mind.  

Possible Slogans: Gentlemen may prefer blondes, but it takes a real man to handle a redhead.

Random Pip sourced fact: A very strange girl horse that I used to work with named Pip once told me that there were no redheads in New Zealand because the Maoris’ had killed them all and eaten them. This beer proves that Pip was wrong (as do the many red headed New Zealanders wandering around.)  

6 degrees of Norm: Where we link every beer back to Norm from Cheers (George Wendt) in 6 easy steps.
1. This Beer is a Sassy Red
2. As was the Little Orphan Annie  
3. Which was a musical starring Tim Curry
4.Who played ‘Roger’ in Roseanne which also starred John Goodman
5. Who was in Cars with John Ratzenberger
6. Who was in Cliff the mailman in Cheers, sitting next to Norm.

Ranking: I’ll have a Pint

Leave a Reply

