Grand Ridge Moon Light

Prologue:  If you are a regular reader you’ll know that I’m a huge fan of The Brewer’s Nose app from Cascade. I did however find a fault in it. If you casually searching through the list of beers you can accidently ‘scan’ one and it’ll end up in you beer log, meaning you will think you have drunk it when you really haven’t.

I know this because I was trying to see if Moo Brew was in the database, and somehow ended up scanning Moon Light from Grand Ridge.

Since the app told me I’d drunk it, I figured I had to go drink it. My opportunity arrived when my lovely girlfriend abandoned me for the evening to go do girl stuff with her BFF (I assume this meant pillow fight in their underwear, but I could be mistaken.)   

Now being at home by myself means two things: 1. Eating Sausages and 2. Drinking Beer.

So I headed off to supermarket to source tubes of meat and hop flavoured juice. I searched in the fridges at our local (generally ordinary and overpriced) supermarket, and in a moment that would cause Alan Thicke to proclaim ‘Well doesn’t that just put the dink in co-ink-e-dink” I spied the Grand Ridge Moon Light

First impression: I wonder if this is endorsed by Tim O’Brien of Tim O’Brien & the Captain Moonlight Band fame? Probably not.

Appearance: This is nice brown ale with a creamy head.

Taste: Had a strong homebrew (read rough) taste to it. There was an immediate strong taste but that died quickly. It is a Nut Ale, but it didn’t really taste nutty, although it was still full bodied.  

I should also mention here that Moonlight is a midstrength beer. I should also mention that if you think mid strength or low alcohol beer means that’s to sacrifice flavour this beer would go a long way to dispel this myth.

Packaging: There is something very traditional about the Grand Ridge label. The crest in the middle, the beer name on the semi circle. The choice of colours. I don’t like it, but then again it’s what’s in the bottle that counts. I fact they even have a rant on their website  about how beer shouldn’t be advertised – but that sounds like a marketing ploy to me.  

Food suggestion: I had this with tomato bush sausages and it felt appropriate, in a way that damper and other outback bush foods would.

Possible Slogans: I’d like to see them sponsor a tour by The Wagons who have a song called moonhorn lake, which is kinda close to Moonlight – plus it gives me a excuse to include a Wagons video below (which isn’t Moonhorn lake, but they are drinking at the start of it)

6 degrees of Norm: Where we link every beer back to Norm from Cheers (George Wendt) in 6 easy steps.

1. Moonlight was the nickname of Archie ‘Moonlight’ Graham.
2. Who was a character played by Burt Lancaster (and Frank Waley) in Field of Dreams.  
3. In which Matt Damon and Ben Affleck appeared as ‘Fans’ at Fenway Park.  
4. They also starred together in Good Will Hunting.
5. Where Ben Affleck’s character was named Chuck
6. As was George Wendt’s character in the 2008 movie ‘Clean Break’  

And finally a new section;

The semi-appropriate Norm Peterson Quote:

SAM: “What’s going down, Normie?” 
NORM: “My butt cheeks on that bar stool.

Ranking: I’ll have a pint thanks

Leave a Reply

