White Rabbit Dark Ale

Prologue:  It had been a hard morning of doing, well, nothing. Lunchtime was upon us. It was a Wednesday, so it was obviously time to head to the pub. So I set off (assistant in tow) along the route I used to take home in my youth (okay last year) until we reached O’Connell’s.  

As I walked in and made my way between tables of businessmen eating steaks I looked over to the bar. I saw taps for Fat Yak (which I promise I will review at some point, the problem is I drink this so often it’s become like Carlton Draught to me) and White Rabbit.

When the attentive waitress popped up at my shoulder seconds after I sat down demanding that I order a drink I was armed with my order – White Rabbit.

First impression: Somewhere in the recesses of my mind I thought I’d had white rabbit before (although thinking back that might have been Red Duck) and in my mind it was a light ale. It was thus quite a surprise when a pot containing a dark ale was placed on the table   

Appearance: As mentioned it was dark brown, through the glass it looked thick, almost creamy. There was a lovely tea coloured head, as I drunk it left delicate lacing on the glass.

Taste: So smooth. It was full of flavour, but not in an overpowering way. I’d consider it a relaxed brew, refreshing and easy to drink. White Rabbit is open fermented, a method that is claimed to increase flavour. It seems to have worked.

The only time I’ve seen open fermentation in practice was in Prague at a microbrewery called Pivovarsky dum.(If you go to Prague go there, it’s amazing). It’s a weird concept that looks like it shouldn’t work, but the beers that night told me it did and White Rabbit seems to have proved it again.  

 

Me, and a tasting wheel in Prague (yes that is green beer)

 

Packaging: I had it in a pot, but the tap looked nice, and the bottle looks cool in an Alice in a drunken wonderland type of way.

Food suggestion: The burger I had it with worked, but I would think any meat would be good.  

Possible Slogans: I’d like to get lost in your rabbit hole.  

6 degrees of Norm: Where we link every beer back to Norm from Cheers (George Wendt) in 6 easy steps.
1. This beer has a Alice in Wonderland vibe  
2. Alice in Wonderland starred the lovely Anne Hathaway as the White Queen 
3. Who apparently gets her kit off in Love and Other Drugs to be released shortly, which also stars Hank Azaria
4. Who voices Chief Wiggum in Simpsons,  
5. Who would have arrested Sideshow Bob, who was voiced by Kelsey Grammer
6. Who played Frasier Crane Cheers, and drunk with Norm.

Or if you wanted to do it in one step – George Wendt played Tweedledee in the 1999 telemovie of Alice in wonderland.   

Ranking: A Jug Please

5 thoughts on “White Rabbit Dark Ale

  1. Pingback: The Hottest 100 (Beers) « A Great Set of Tipples

  2. Pingback: Introducing Festival of the Jugs « A Great Set of Tipples

  3. Pingback: Festival of the Jugs – White Rabbit White Ale « A Great Set of Tipples

  4. Pingback: Fat Yak « A Great Set of Tipples

Leave a Reply

