Mahou

Prologue: As you would know from my previous post I found myself at a Spanish restaurant recently. I was hoping that maybe they would have my favourite Spanish beer – Rosita on the menu, but I wasn’t that lucky.

Instead I ordered the previously unheard of Mahou

First impression: This looks a little commercial – disappointing.  

Appearance: It was poured expertly by my hipster waiter, I watched closely, the beer was slightly darker than I was expecting, I was expecting a standard commercial pale Lager, but Mahou is actually a Pilsner. Which generally means it a little hoppier and has more taste than your stock standard Carlton Draught or alike.

It also didn’t have the trails of bubbles you get in most commercial lagers.  

Smell: I gave is a subtle sniff (where we in public I didn’t want to look like a beer wanker) and thought it smelled yeasty, which given I was smelling beer seemed apt.

Packaging:  I’m not a huge fan of the label, gold highlights labels seem to be a Spanish (speaking) thing, think Sol, Dos Equis, Corona.  The foil neck was nice although I never a huge fan when the label goes over the bottle cap. It gets in the way, a beer drinking needs to be effiecient

Taste: This was quite a nice beer, it had a depth of flavour that I wasn’t expecting. It was nicely carbonated (not too gassy). There was just a hint of bitterness in the aftertaste but all in all very drinkable and smooth.  

Food suggestion: Bar Lourinha served us an amazing roasted mushrooms with garlic cream which complemented this very well.

Random Wikipedia Fact: Mahou is also a small town in Mali which has a population of 11,579 people. I doubt whether any of them have drunk Mahou

6 degrees of Norm:

1.    This beer is from Spain

2.    Which is where Vicky Cristina Barcelona was filmed.

3.    Which starred Scarlett Johansson

4.    Who was in ‘Lost in Translation’ with Bill Murray  

5.    Who was played ‘Himself’ in Zombieland  

6.    With Woody Harrelson, who was in Cheers with George Wendt.

Ranking:  Let’s have a Schooner.

Leave a Reply

