Stone & Wood Stone Beer

One for Me, one for my Fuzzy little friend

Back on Australia Day, The Local Taphouse ran their Hottest 100 craft beers competition (you can read the results here), where we found out what the most popular microbrewery beers in Australia were.  I say most popular, because 1. taste is a highly personal thing, so most popular doesn’t mean best and 2. I absolutely refuse to believe that 4 Pines produce seven of the best 100 beers in Australia. They might produce one maybe two, but not seven.
You can read my predictions for the comp here.  You can also see my pick for number 1 actually came third and my five selections came third, ninth, eighty-eighth and two non-finishers (I still hold that the Mountain Goat DIPA was one of the best beers of the year for mine, but that it failed to rate because not enough people actually had access to it). You will also note that I didn’t even mention the eventual winner at all.
That’s right, I’d fallen for trap number one in the election predictors’ handbook, which I assume would be written by Antony Green and would have a chapter entitled ‘Eden-Monaro and other bellwether seats’.  I let my personal opinion cloud my judgement. You see I might be the only beer wanker in Australia who doesn’t particularly like the winner, which was Stone & Wood’s Pacific Ale, and the truth is completely forgot about this beer, because, well I don’t drink it. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with it I should mention and I can see why people would like it, but it’s not for me and there are so many beers out there to try.
However there is a Stone and Wood beer which I do like (as do most beer wankers) and that’s Stone Beer.  So to celebrate Stone and Wood being named the favourite beer producer in Australia it seems only apt that I marked that fact by drinking a Stone Beer on Australia Day. I even Aussied it up by drinking it in the company of a koala (see if you can spot him in the photo above) on an Aussie flag decked deck near the beach.
The gimmick of this beer is that they use heated stones to raise the brew to a boil (just like they did back in medieval times, before man had invented appropriate gas delivery devices like stoves). This supposedly adds unique flavours to the beer and you’d hope so given I’m guessing it’s more difficult that breaking out the Bic lighter and firing up the brew kettle. 
Was this rock heating worth it really? I’m not convinced it adds flavour, but it’s a darn good beer either way. It’s a nice caramel colour with a white head and these tiny tiny bubbles streaming up the sides. There is also a touch of caramel in the taste, along with some roasted graininess, but it all stays quite sessionable, perhaps a little on the fizzy side and a little thin to really blow your mind, but really enjoyable all the same. Pint
So if you want to get a popular beer with a medieval bent, then get some Stone and Wood Stone Beer into you.

One thought on “Stone & Wood Stone Beer

  1. theory is the wort caramelises on the hot stones, kind of puts a burnt candy layer on the rocks. Not sure if they leave the rocks in when they ferment it like they used to in Germany but its still nice beer and a nice little touch of history in a modern beer

Leave a Reply

