Feral Moondogs.

Another brilliant label from Moondog

We have discussed Moondog before, they are those crazy guys from Abbotsford who produce weird beers with strange names but awesome labels. The latest beer of theirs is no different. It is a raspberry coffee beer (because that’s a thing apparently) and it’s called Symbiotic Solipsism, which if Wikipedia definitions are correct means a mutualistic relationship that may not exist outside of one’s own mind. Doesn’t make any sense? Don’t worry neither does the beer.
And that’s the basic problem, when you are pushing the boundaries of what has been done in beer-making (certainly in this country) you are going to alienate people and you are going to produce brews that some people are going to hate. This beer for me was one of those. It could probably be best described as tasting like you took the wet coffee grains at the bottom of a bodum pot, left them sitting on the bench for 4 days so they got a little mouldy and then mixed them with some very weak raspberry cordial.  Pot.
I’m all for experimenting and I’m all for breweries producing something different and a bit wacky, and as a card-carrying beer wanker it’s my duty to be amazed by everything Moondog do. But I’d like to see them produce a good quality standard IPA or Pale Ale, or dare I say it lager to prove that they can actually make good beer before they go out making dung infused, dry roasted, barrel aged, sour ales laced with star anise and the honeycomb sourced from East African hives populated entirely by cross dressing bi-sexual  bees named Terry. 
One brewery that has proven time and time again that they produce great quality beers is Feral and I assure you that the Karma Citra is no different. It’s a black IPA, although it pours brown rather than black. There are sweet citrus fruits on the nose that remind me of marmalade and even a fleeting hint of smoke.
And the taste is all there as well. It’s complex and exciting, hoppy without being aggressive. It’s got this great silky smooth body as well, with quite a bit of malt character, almost chocolately and just a hint of nuts. Even though it’s a big IPA and has plenty of hops you get the feeling that even a novice to the craft beer scene would love this one, very sessionable. If you had to be stranded on a desert island and you could only take one beer to drink for the rest of time, I think I might choose this on. Although maybe I could do a two for one deal and take some Hop Hog with me as well  – Jug.

6 thoughts on “Feral Moondogs.

  1. I’m somewhat suprised that you made it to a pot on the Moondog stuff? sounds not so good. Still even though I’ve never had their beer I really like the idea of these guys beers, guess that dosent always translate to a good drinking experience

  2. Personally, I liked Symbiotic Solipsism. However, it’s definitely been one of those beers that has clearly divided drinkers between love and hate. I don’t think it’s their best beer, but found it plenty drinkable and very interesting.

    What I love most about Moon Dog is their straight out refusal to just “produce a good quality standard IPA or Pale Ale”. That is not their mission and far from their desire. There are plenty of good quality standard IPAs and Pale Ales flooding the local market at the moment. Who needs more of the same? Moon Dog are there for the niche market and they make no apologies for that. I think Moon Dog would alienate me if they did make just a regular Pale Ale, IPA or lager…it would essentially be seen as a sign of failure, because that is not what Moon Dog is about.

    So I say…BRING ON the “dung infused, dry roasted, barrel aged, sour ales laced with star anise and the honeycomb sourced from East African hives populated entirely by cross dressing bi-sexual bees named Terry”!! If they can brew it and sell it, then they are succeeding and it’s good for the beer market.

    • Thanks for stopping by James. I see what Moondog are doing, and I do admire them for it, but I also worry about whether the Australian beer drinking market is big enough to support their approach, I hope to God it is, and I have no idea how much money the Moondog kids need to generate to survive, and/or what the approach at the brewery is, but as an outsider I can see how it is going to work unless you get to a place where every beer wanker in the nation is climbing over each other to try the latest beer from Moondog and they can then charge some sort of crazy ultra premium for them. But are we ever going to get there?
      When you produce ‘love them or hate them’ beers you have to wonder how many chances people are going to give them. If I’ve tried 4 of the Moondog brews now, I’ve thought three of them were okay, but in a ‘that was an interesting experience’ way, rather than an ‘I want more of this beer right now’ way and one I really disliked. I wonder where the tipping point is. When you go, It’s not worth the risk buying another Moondog beer and instead to opt for one of the hundreds of great quality pale ales or IPA’s out there.
      Of course you are right that Moondog stands for weird shit now, and they would ruin that if they started acting normal – perhaps they need a side project label/line like James Squire, Burleigh Brewing and Little Creatures do, except their side project could produce normal stuff.

  3. Pingback: Good Beer Week Day 4 – West Australian Brews | Tipples

Leave a Reply

